05 Apr

The heart chakra, or Anahata in its original Sanskrit name, colors our life with compassion, love, and beauty. Driven by the principles of transformation and integration, the fourth energy center is said to bridge earthly and spiritual aspirations. It is located in the center of the chest (the energy center is not located where our actual heart organ lies; rather, the heart chakra is in the center of the chest area). The key elements of the heart chakra are glands or bodily functions: Thymus gland, responsible for hormone production and important in the regulation of the immune system.

The Heart chakra is associated with these characteristics:

Capacity to love

Integration, bridge between earthly and spiritual aspirations

Transcending personal identity and limitations of the ego

Experience of unconditional love and connection with all

Heart-centered discernment

Appreciation of beauty in all things

Experiencing deep and meaningful relationships

Heart Chakra Imbalance:

Being overly defensive

Feeling closed down

Jealousy; fear of intimacy

Codependency, relying on other’s approval and attention, trying to please at all cost

Always putting oneself in the role of the savior or the rescuer; or on the contrary, falling into victimization

Excessive isolation, being recluse, antisocial

Holding grudges, not being to forgive

Respiratory ailments, such as lung infection, bronchitis

Circulatory and heart-related issues

How to Balance your Heart Chakra:

Work with the breath to balance your energy; observe it, play with it with breathing exercises

Cultivate your appreciation for beauty, whether it’s in nature, people or in the arts

Practice self-care and love your body up, from a good bath with rose essential oil to yoga poses opening the heart area

Cultivate self-compassion and acceptance, especially with regards to your emotions and body

Engage in activities that feed your heart

Focus on receiving if you are naturally inclined to be a giver; and on giving if you’re more inclined to receive all the time

Reflect on old wounds inherited from family relationships and come to terms with them compassionately; practice forgiveness deep within your heart

Express your gratitude, even if it’s in silence; you can be grateful for the presence of other people in your life or simply for good things that make your life easier and happier

Foods that Balance Your Heart Chakra:

  • Green Vegetables: spinach, zucchini, kale, Brussels sprouts, broccoli, Asian greens, beans, silverbeet, peas and asparagus
  • Green fruits: kiwi fruit, green apples, green grapes, cucumbers, avocado and limes.
  • Green superfoods: spirulina, chlorella, wheatgrass, barley grass, matcha powder and green tea.
  • Herbs: coriander, mint, oregano, parsley, thyme, rosemary, tarragon, basil and sage.

Best Stones for the Heart Chakra:

  • Rose Quartz (Stone of Unconditional Love)
  • Rhodochrosite (Stone for Selfless Love and Compassionate Heart)
  • Emerald (Stone of Successful Love)
  • Rhodonite (Stone of Self Love and Unconditional Love)
  • Green Aventurine (Stone of Opportunity)
  • Green Jade (Dream Stone and Stone of Fidelity)
  • Amazonite (Stone of Hope and Courage)
  • Prehnite (Stone of Unconditional Love and Healing)
  • Malachite (Stone of Transformation)

* The email will not be published on the website.